Sonobe variation, by Kalami

Kalami (Christine Pape? or Blasek?) published this Sonobe variation. You can find it in the Christmas Origami Book 2009 (as well as many, many other diagrams and crease patterns! Enjoy :)) or on her website (some other diagrams too, all very precise, beautiful and clear).

It doesn’t seem to have a specific name, but I always refer to it in my head as the “razor kusudama”, because the flaps that go up between the montains look so sharp.

It is folded from 30 sheets of 7.5 cm paper “black and white” from Aitoh. I used 5 different patterns, there are 16 in the pack – I think they make most models look classy, I love it.

Rotating Tetrahedron by Tomoko Fusè

This funny model is by Tomoko Fusè. It can be found in “Origami for the connoisseur”, by Kunihiro Kasahara and Toshie Takahama, ISBN 4817090022.

Each is folded from 3 sheets of 15 cm paper (kami on the left, kami+print chiyogami by Grimmhobby on the right). As always with Tomoko Fusè, it’s really sturdy once assembled.

You can make the model rotate around its center! It’s really funny to play with, amuses children and geeks alike :)

Elephants by Fumiaki Kawahata and Edwin Corrie

So… a year ago, I blogged about Nick Robinson’s elephants. As I said before, I don’t fold many animals, but there are a few exceptions: I like birds, bats, cats, dragons, and butterflies. And elephants, obviously. So, more elephants!

This cute guy is by Fumiaki Kawahata. Leyla Torres made a video tutorial. I’m not sure about the paper, maybe the 20cm from Avenue Mandarine?

I think the elephant on the right is the one by Edwin Corrie, found in “Origami Animals” by Vicente Palacios (ISBN 9780486478746), page 40 – he has a few diagrams on his website, check it out :)

Both models are intermediate. Step 11 of Corrie’s elephant is a bit tricky, but not undoable.

Pleated decoration by Tomoko Fusè

This very pretty model by Tomoko Fusè can be found in “Origami modulaires d’exception”, ISBN 9782889355815 (nuinui editions), page 42.

It is folded from six 15X7.5 cm sheets. The red ones are washi chiyogami by Grimmhobby, the white ones are very plain paper, but I thought it made the patterned ones stand out more.

You can add more modules if you feel like it, and make it more fluffly.

This book has plenty of cute models, in the easy or intermediate range. For non-Frensh speakers, I’m pretty sure the books by nuinui editions are translated, at least in Italian, maybe English? As usual, the instructions are clear and photos gorgeous (personnaly, I’d prefer a bit less photos and more models, but I guess I’m not the main audience intended).

Star by Yamaguchi Makoto

This star can be found in a Toyo small book in japanese, no idea what the title means, but ISBN 4902031010071, page 115. Again, no idea who the author is, if someone speaking japanese can tell me, I’ll update :)*

The star is folded from 16 sheets of 7 cm kami paper.

*Edit: once again, Michel Grand helped with identification of the author! As we can see on Origami House’website, it’s Yamaguchi Makoto, and the book is “Kirei na Origami”
(Beautiful Origami), number 6.