Hexagonal boxes by Tomoko Fusè

Tomoko Fusè is probably my favorite origamist, she invented so many incredible models – and this is one of my favorites. It is found at the end of “30 boîtes en origami”, as mentionned before.

The hexagonal boxes are folded from 4 sheets (2 for the bottom and 2 for the lid). The blue box is made from two A4 sheets cut in half, the two others are made from square paper (japanese chiyogami + Tant for the pink one, don’t remember the blue waves paper).

So, one thing I really like with this model is that it works for any rectangle. Whatever your favorite paper format, or what you have available: you won’t have to cut!

I bought this gorgeous paper in a papershop in Rennes (France), there are beautiful fibers in it that give a texture that I like.

The boxes are formed with a twist fold, a bit hard at first but sort of addictive :) You can make a number of variations on how to arrange the “flower” on top of the box.